Review: Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Rose

20131012-172109.jpg

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Rose – $28 / £23 from Liberty

It seems almost impossible to find a lip colour that I don’t have to keep constantly worrying about reapplying. As much as I love my Revlon lip butters and MAC Cremesheen formulas, I don’t always reach for them in the morning since I don’t want to spend my entire day thinking about my lip colour creasing or rubbing off unattractively. I’d heard about Hourglass products online and wanted to treat myself to a high-end lip product (or three) to enjoy at home – as great as drugstore products are, it’s fun to indulge when you have the chance!

20131012-174151.jpg

Like all of the Liquid Lipstick shades, Rose is wonderfully opaque and pigmented as well as one of the most wearable colours. The online swatches are so deceiving – this is a gorgeous bright pink-red, not a natural pale pink like they suggest, so be aware of this if you’re buying from a website. The doe foot applicator allows the creamy liquid to be applied like a gloss – this makes it difficult to be precise, but the liquid form is easily corrected whilst wet. It takes up to 2 minutes for the wet glossy formula to dry into a soft matte stain which stays put for up to 7-8 hours – even through food and drink! It is virtually smudge-proof (you have to try ridiculously hard to even smudge this in the slightest..and even then it hardly moves) and holds up incredibly well during a busy day and I never seem to have to reapply. On top of that, I’m a big fan of the sleek, gorgeous packaging and the tiny size makes it ideal for travel.

My only complaints? A slightly skinnier applicator would make it easy to apply this hard-wearing product a little more precisely to avoid any awkward mistakes. And the price is a little steep for such a tiny tube! As much as I’d love to try out the other shades, lip products this expensive are a rare indulgence for me. Unless they ever bring out a mini sampler set, this is the only shade of this product I’ll be buying for a long time.

I’m so pleased I bought this gorgeous colour – it’s such a wearable shade and stays put through even the busiest days. I’m not into all of the darker A/W berry shades so I’ll definitely be wearing this a lot over the next few months.

Have you tried this before? Any opinions – love or hate it?

Leave a Reply

