Review: NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Sex Machine

20131027-112503.jpg

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Sex Machine – £17.50 @ NARS Cosmetics

After searching for an everyday shade of lip colour for what seemed like forever.. I finally found it!

This was given to me by my mother – she’d bought it for herself but for whatever reason, found she didn’t like it and passed it on to me. Thanks! Normally, MAC is my first go-to when I’m hunting for new, unique lip colours and NARS isn’t a brand I regularly buy from since their products can be so expensive!

I was shocked that my very conservative mother chose a lip product called ‘Sex Machine’ (gasp!) but I can see why she chose it – she favours muted pink shades for work and this is definitely not the hot, amped-up colour at all that you’d expect from the name. It’s a lovely, neutral dusty rose colour that leans slightly berry or a touch purple on some lips, but a staple wearable pink that would suit just about any skin tone.

20131027-113620.jpg

I didn’t wear this for the longest time simply because I’m used to lipsticks and glosses over pencils and crayons, but eventually I decided to be adventurous and try this out. Compared to other lip crayons, this applies incredibly soft and virtually ‘melts’ onto your lips for an ultra-smooth application. It doesn’t tug on the lips at all and despite being a matte product it doesn’t feel drying like heavy matte lipsticks often do.

20131027-114241.jpg

Maybe not the most flattering lip selfie, but you can see how this looks on my pigmented lips in natural light. It doesn’t look at all out of place against my red hair and doesn’t look too noticeable when it starts to wear off, making it a great go-to everyday colour for me. Expect to get 2-3 hours of wear and reapply after meals – it’s not the most long-lasting lip product and doesn’t leave a stain once rubbed off, but reapplying on the go is easy as it’s an ideal product to keep in your bag all day.

Since this is a traditional style pencil product, it does need sharpening every few uses, which can be annoying unless you also keep a travel sharpener in your bag (smart thinking!). It’s a chunky pencil, so invest in a large or dual lip pencil sharpener – you can get a great one from NARS specially made for this product, but I got a very good dual one from Space NK for £5 that also comes with a tiny pick for cleaning. Another minor detail that might bother some of you – it has a subtle ‘waxy’ smell, similar to the NARS lip laquers except, thankfully, not as strong. This is supposed to be the small amount of lanolin in the product, but even for someone like me who is very sensitive to smells it doesn’t put me off at all.

I’ve been wearing this colour almost every day over the last few weeks and just had to review it – it’s so flattering and perfectly finishes an eye-heavy look without being too distracting but still adding a touch of soft matte colour to the lips. I’d highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a perfect everyday shade – it’s one of my favourites & will hopefully be one of yours too!

Leave a Reply

