November Favourites!

It’s already that time again! This month has gone so unbelieveably quickly. I hope you’ve had a brilliant month, whatever you’ve been up to. I’ve been drowning in work – a dissertation and an enormous Professional Practice project. Naturally since I’m working to a deadline the time is going unbelieveably fast – sorry about that! Taking a break from work and/or holiday celebrations (looking at you, crazy Americans with your turkey and Black Friday madness..it’s not even December yet! ;)) here are some of my November favourites which I couldn’t be without this month!

1. The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector – One of my HGs that will be in my life forever! This is my backup since my current tube is completely mangled from many, many uses. I’ve been using this wonderful hand cream for years, it’s an absolute must-have for anyone with dry, sore, winter-beaten hands. I gift it frequently and, like me, everyone who’s tried it will never go back to any other hand cream. Even my nan has this on her coffee table. This is best to use at night, cotton gloves optional, as it’s a bit greasy to use during the day – when you wake up, your hands are baby-soft and smooth no matter what kind of hell you put them through the day before. I’m a huge fan of the Hemp Foot Protector as well – I don’t know where I’d be without them. I even have a couple of backups in my drawer since I always repurchase during 40% off days.

2. Wet ‘n’ Wild Coverall Cream Foundation – I wrote a full review on this product here and it’s had plenty of use this month. From evenings out to a busy day up in London, I have absolute faith in this full-coverage miracle. It will stay put literally all day even on the oiliest skin and I’ve only needed to ever touch up a maximum of once, even for the hectic 16 hours of London/travelling madness. Shade 816 matches my NW18 skin perfectly, it’s barely detectable once on. I still can’t believe a  foundation this cheap can be so brilliant – why would you spend so much for high-end foundations after using this?

3. Bath & Body Works ‘Sensual Amber’ EDT – More amber-fragranced B&BW goodness. This is one of those rare sense I want to douse myself in, it’s that delicious and addictive. Affordable without smelling cheap in the least, this scent suits younger fragrance lovers as well as sophisticated ones. I always thought amber fragrances were for older ladies but I was proved well and truly wrong after trying this. It’s described as an ‘exotic scent of pink lotus petals enveloped in golden amber and blended with succulent plum and creamy sandalwood’. Divine? Absolutely.

4. Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-Wheat Leave-In Conditioner – I know leave-in conditioners are often thought of as just another unnecessary haircare afterthought, but damn I was proven wrong after trying this! My hair can be dry since I colour it and sometimes straighten it (bad I know), so I need a seriously good conditioning product that does its job without making my hair oily or leaving a ton of buildup. This is that product and more. I can’t believe how incredibly soft my hair was after using this! It just feels healthy and silky without a trace of residue. This is why my hair has been so exceptionally good lately – I love it a bit too much!

5. Oribe Dry Texturising Spray – After verbally bashing the Oribe Maximista a few days ago, it does seem a bit unusual that I have so little love for Maximista yet so much love for this. Yes, Oribe is expensive. Yes, I was reluctant to hand over my card to pay £18 for what looks like a tiny can of fancy dry shampoo. But I love it. And I hate that I love it. I tried Batiste but I can’t put up with the strong lingering smell and white cast. I just can’t, you guys. This is a wonderful product for giving some texture to fine, flat, fluffy hair which can be so difficult to style after washing. This truly gives me ‘babe’ hair – a little oomph of volume and a little bit of essential texture and I’m feeling so much better about how my hair looks in the morning. And yes, I’ll probably be buying the full size soon since this baby size is on its way out – I’ll just close my eyes when I’m paying. Damn you, Oribe!

6. Nuxe ‘Reve de Miel’ Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm – I’m now one of those people who pays money for expensive lip balm because I’m too fancy to use drug store ones anymore. Yep. The real reason I bought this is because all the cheap lip balms – even the natural ones – had either menthol or alcohol in which are things I don’t want anywhere near my lips when they’re already painfully dry. You probably know that this is done on purpose so you keep using lip balm to hydrate your lips, they dry out, apply more lip balm – it’s just a vicious cycle really. This Nuxe blogger beauty used morning and evening has kept my lips comfortably hydrated all day and feeling better than ever. And, it smells like chocolate orange. I just wish this was in stick form since I don’t enjoy the germy feeling of putting my fingers in the pot all the time, but I’m not going to argue because it’s one of the rare lip balms that has ever worked for me – and that’s absolutely worth the price.

7. Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask – Hands up whose skin gets horribly dried out when winter rolls around. Me too. Thanks to central heating, chilly winds and dehumidifiers (to keep the damp out) our skin suffers as a consequence. Even if you have oily skin it doesn’t mean it’s not dehydrated. Most people are put off by the idea of a ‘mask’ overnight, but this is just a sweet-smelling cream that gives you glowing, hydrated skin by morning. It’s probably a little thicker than your night cream but isn’t a problem to wear in bed at all. And as much as I appreciate having the heating on so much in the freezing weather (many of my friends aren’t so lucky, being warm is expensive) I use this once a week to keep my skin hydrated so it doesn’t suffer through the winter weather. This is excellent for all skin types and a must-have in this weather.

8. Maybelline Color Whisper in ‘Made-It Mauve’ – Another ‘Merica purchase. I’m always curious about the products we’re not lucky enough to have here, so I picked this up in September along with ‘Pin-up Peach’. I didn’t think much of this one at first but I’ve been using it most days this month. It’s the perfect sheer reddish-purple for autumn weather when you don’t want to look too overdone in the morning but need a touch of lip colour to look more awake at 7am. I’ve had a couple of people ask me about my lip colour and they always mention it’s so strange we don’t have the Color Whispers collection here – maybe we will some day!

9. Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Dollface (Travel Size) – This shade sounds far cooler if you say it in a New York accent. I was really silly on my US shopping trip and only picked up summer colours, but it’s hard to think about the impending doom of winter when you’re too busy enjoying yourself in a tropical paradise. Luckily they have these smaller travel size Tarte blushes on Ebay for a small price, so I picked this gorgeous light pink. They’re well-pigmented and seem to last all day, so I’ve been wearing this all the time lately paired with a very light dusting of Benefit Hoola bronzer. My skin’s already reverted back to its pale winter state so this blush is ideal for giving a touch of long-lasting colour to my pale, pale skin!

That’s all for my favourites this month? What products have brought joy to your life this November?

 

2 thoughts on “November Favourites!

Leave a Reply

