December Favourites!

photo

I almost decided against a December Favourites post – I was ill for ages (and still not feeling 100%), and then Christmas..so I haven’t been wearing a whole lot of makeup! Then I remembered there are still loads of other beauty products I’ve been loving this month, so here are my top picks for the month of December!

 

1. The Wet Brush (£7.97 via Amazon UK) – I thought I loved the Tangle Teezer, then I found this. This is the 2nd post in a row I’ve mentioned the fabulous Rachel Whitehurst and I thoroughly blame her infinite praise for this product for convincing me to buy it – this video pretty much sums it up. It really is like the holy grail of hairbrushes. It doesn’t look any different to a cheap hairbrush you’d find in the 99p store, but it’s not until you run it through your hair that you realise how very gentle yet incredibly effective it is. I’m one of those people who are scared of hairbrushes and live with a head full of knots because they seem to yank my hair out, but this is smooth, perfect and effortless on both wet and dry hair. The fact that I can now brush my hair without tears of pain or shedding a small animal’s worth of hair really does say it all.

2. Redken Color Extend Shampoo (£9.50 via Gorgeous Shop) – If you have dyed red hair you know the pain of finding a colour shampoo that genuinely helps lock in your colour for longer. Tresemme’s offering was a disaster and dried my hair out, so I returned to Redken, the old favourite I always find myself coming back to. There’s no magic shampoo that’ll keep your hair colour salon-perfect forever, but this really does make my colour last at least 25% longer every time whilst cleaning well and keeping my colour looking bright and dark for as long as possible. I’ve repurchased this at least 4 times now and I only use it for the first month or two after my colour appointment, so I don’t have to repurchase as much as I would if I used it constantly. I’ve been rotating this with L’Oreal Ever Riche shampoo for when the colour’s faded so I can get my dry hair in the best condition possible before my next appointment. NOTE: I believe this product has now changed its name to ‘Color Extend Magnetics’ – I’m curious to try it out and see if the formula has changed.

3. Lush ‘It’s Raining Men’ Shower Gel (from £4.50 via Lush) – This is divine. I’ve never been that bothered about shower gel scents until I discovered this recently. The most beautiful honey scented product that smells very similar to Lush’s ‘Honey I Washed The Kids’ soap – if you enjoyed using that, you’ll love this. The reason it’s so much better than any other typical honey scented body wash: it also contains notes of various wild flowers, orange oil and bergamot oil which create the most perfect scent which sticks around afterwards and I kind of wish they had this scent in everything. It smells so delicious I’d probably eat it if I hadn’t already had breakfast..

4. Model’s Own Nail Polish in Utopia (£5 via Model’s Own) – I’ve never been a neutral nail kind of person. I’ve always been the one with crazy glittery/holographic/metallic/textured nails in a rainbow of colours and never sticking to just one shade. Therefore I don’t really know why I’ve been wearing this non-stop for the last two months. I think it’s because it’s not just a boring taupe or coffee/poop-brown neutral polish which I hate, it’s a very unique shade that absolutely works as a classic neutral shade for anyone who hates classic neutrals, which I’ve had countless comments on since wearing it. I can imagine this pale lilac-based shade suiting most skin tones and a favourite for almost anyone who tries it.

5. Lavanila Vanilla Grapefruit Fragrance (£30.25 via Ebay) – This fragrance is yet another thing I really can’t get enough of. I’d been reading countless glowing reviews on Makeupalley and picked up a few mini sizes of the scent from Sephora in the USA. Unfortunately I was being tight with my money and didn’t pick up a full size, so foolishly ended up overpaying for this on Ebay soon after I returned home. This is a truly unique yet very wearable fragrance – as well as featuring both vanilla and grapefruit notes, I can also smell hints of citrus and cedarwood in there. Everyone who smells this on me falls in love with it immediately and has to know where you can get it (only on Ebay if you’re outside the USA). My only problem is that it seems to be getting used up so quickly already and it’s a little expensive to repurchase for such a small bottle. Sephora were offering mini sample sizes as a 100 point perk, so I urge anyone who’s interested to try one before shelling out for the full size.

6. NYX Butter Gloss in Maple Blondie (£5 via Cocktail Cosmetics) – After trying such a perfect formula I don’t know how I’ll ever be persuaded to try a different lip gloss again. These are 100% worth all the hype: non-sticky, smooth to apply, a lovely range of colours, pleasant vanilla scent and long-lasting for a gloss. I can’t stand the feeling of my lips being superglued together like I often get with lip glosses, but the Butter Gloss formula has converted me from my lipstick-loving ways. Creme Brulee is a great colour too, but I prefer this for adding a glossy shine and a wash of pinky-peach colour to my lips when I don’t feel like wearing a full face of makeup but still want to look presentable and less zombiefied. One of those products that’s so perfect and inexpensive I’ll probably end up buying it in every shade.

 

I hope you enjoyed my favourites for this month! Wishing you the loveliest of New Years and I’ll see you in 2014!

Have you tried any of these products? What are your favourites this month?

Leave a Reply

