My New Year’s Beauty Resolutions…

source: here  

Happy new year! I hope you’re having the most wonderful of New Years and staying safe from the terrifying weather if you live in the UK!

Sure, we’d all like to be fit and eat healthy this year, but what other resolutions are you making this year which you can actually stick to and make a difference? I’m not going to suddenly become a star athlete or travel the world this year (as nice as it would be), so I made some beauty-specific resolutions I can actually work on! If you’re looking to save money on products or amp up your beauty routine, check out my list below and maybe add some of my ideas onto your resolution list…

1. Keep up my Empties posts. As weird as hoarding your rubbish may be, I find the process of going through my empties every two months so useful in figuring out what worked for me, what didn’t, and what’s going out rather than coming in, thus helping me focus on downsizing my collection by using things up rather than throwing them out. I feel that if someone’s used up an entire product, they’re going to be able to give you a thorough, honest opinion on the product, so I hope these posts help you too!

2. Stay within my budget. Being honest here: I have to stick to £280 per month to cover all my expenses that aren’t rent, bills or insurance-related. Sounds like a generous amount on its own, but when I’m paying around £40 a week on fuel, that leaves £30 for food, plus entertainment, going out, clothes and beauty products. I like to be creative in saving money and getting good deals, but I’d much prefer to save up for one product I really want than making several impulse purchases – we’ll see how this goes!

3. Learn some new techniques. I’m not great at applying eyeshadow and eyeliner because of sensitive eyes and shaky hands, so I’d love to set aside some extra time to practice. Youtube is the holy grail of makeup tutorials for me, I like being able to rewind tutorial videos as much as I like so I can keep trying and perfect a new technique. Maybe 2014 be the year I get some decent use out of all those eyeshadow palettes?

4. Perfect my skincare routine. My skin is much better than in the past, but still needs a bit of work! My nighttime routine of Ren Omega 3 Night Repair Serum followed by Ren Frankincense Revitalising Night Cream has been doing wonders for my skin. But I’m still on the hunt for my perfect eye cream to fight dark circles, the ideal cleanser for sensitive combination skin, and a day moisturiser for my skin type to rotate with my Origins favourite to eliminate redness and keep my oily t-zone in check! A tall order perhaps, but I’m desperate to find my ideal routine for my difficult skin.

What are your resolutions this year? And what are your favourite Youtube tutorial videos, as well as your holy grail skincare products? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

