January Favourites!

Only 11 months left of 2014..scary much? It’s been a miserable month for many I’m sure, & the sooner it’s over the better! However I did manage to find some truly wonderful products this month that have shaken up my everyday beauty routine made the most dreary month of the year that much more exciting!

1. Bioderma Hydrabio H2O (£9.99 via Escentual) – It seems like everyone and their grandma jumped on the Bioderma bandwagon in 2013. Yes, I’m a little late to the Bioderma fiesta, but better late than never right? I decided to go for the more hydrating Hydrabio formula as it was on sale on Escentual at the time, though remaining a little skeptical to pay so much more than my favourite affordable cleansing water choices. But damn, this stuff is good. I remove the bulk of my makeup with a face wipe, drop some of this onto a cotton pad and wipe all over. Foundation, mascara, eyeliner – gone. Like magic. It’s the most gentle micellar formula I’ve used and doesn’t leave my face feeling dry or tight in the least. It’s official: I’m converted.

2. La Roche-Posay Hydreane Legere (£11 via Escentual) – I may have already found a new Holy Grail product for 2014. A good facial moisturiser is notoriously hard to find; one that suits your skin type, works continuously over time and doesn’t leave the skin greasy, flaky, red or broken out. I hadn’t heard much about this particular product, so before placing my latest Escentual order I read a few positive reviews and added it to my basket. After having so much trouble with my skin in recent months I was doubtful that anything would actually work. 3 weeks later my difficult sensitive/combination skin feels soft, less oily, more even and redness has even died down a little – it’s incredible how flawless my bare skin is looking. I only use it in the morning, using my REN Omega 3 serum at night, yet it’s still made an enormous difference. I was amazed at how well this worked for my particular skin type, especially for a fraction of the price of some of the premium skincare brands on the high street. I’d highly recommend this to anyone with sensitive combination skin, it’s worked true miracles for mine so far.

3. MAC Turquatic 20ml (£23 via MAC Cosmetics) – How adorable is this ultra-modern, baby-sized EDT? I was rudely ignoring my resolution to save money this year and made a MAC order (as well as numerous visits to my local counter to hunt down most of the Magnetic Nude collection..sorry bank account). I needed an extra item to qualify for free P&P – I remembered sniffing this in one of the Pro stores in the USA and decided it was time to add Turquatic to my own collection. Turns out that was an excellent decision. Turquatic has quickly become my latest go-to everyday fragrance: clean, light, non-offensive and an addictively pleasant scent for even the most sensitive noses. The website describes the key notes as “anemone, lotus, orris & corsican blue cedar” which are “sea-inspired” – how exotic! It’s certainly reminiscent of a tropical summertime in the ocean, yet absolutely works year-round as an everyday scent. No doubt I’ll be needing the 50ml size soon enough.

4. MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul (£20 via MAC Cosmetics) – It’s true, I’ve become a MAC addict this month. I’d seen this blush mentioned on the Makeupalley boards a number of times and when a particularly lovely member with my exact skin tone raved about it, I decided I had to check it out for myself. I seldom pay anything upwards of £10 for a blush but when a MAC sales assistant dusted this beauty on my cheeks, it was decided: I needed it. Warm Soul is a stunning beige-gold blush that transforms almost any skin tone. Lightweight and buildable, it’s ideal to use as a blush/highlighter combo due to the subtle shimmer that gives a gorgeously healthy luminous appearance without looking glittery in the least – I’ve been using it all month and truly can’t get enough of how beautiful it looks on my skin. MAC Mineralize blushes, you have me hooked.

5. Bite Beauty High Pigment Pencil in Rhubarb ($24 via Sephora) – It deeply saddens me that Sephora and their gorgeous American-exclusive products will not ship to the UK. However I was lucky enough to find a mini version of this product in my ‘Give Me Some Lip’ sampler kit I bought from Sephora in the summer and it’s been a key favourite of mine all month. Bite lip pencils are hugely popular in the US and I was pleasantly surprised by the creamy, long-lasting formula that almost acts as a stain which stays put for hours, even through food and drink. I’ve been giving my eyes a rest from the heavy eye makeup and have opted for a bold lip to inject some colour into my makeup, so I’ve been wearing this almost every day. It’s a perfect red-but-not-too-red shade for fair, cool-toned skin – a very wearable plummy-red shade in a fantastic formula. You’ll easily find the mini versions of these on Ebay as well, so fear not fellow British ladies! I’ve been getting through it so fast I’ve already found myself another as a backup.

6. Smashbox Photo Finish Colour Correcting Travel Size Primer (£12.50 via Boots) – Who doesn’t love adorable, mini sized beauty products? I’d been meaning to try one of the much-raved about Smashbox primers for ages, so I picked up this cute travel size in the colour correcting green shade. I wasn’t so impressed with the ‘colour correcting’ claim, since when my redness flares up there are few products that cover it, but it does act as a silky-smooth silicone base for my makeup. I’ve also noticed it does an excellent job of keeping my makeup in place through even the busiest of days without irritating my skin and controls my oiliness well. An ideal candidate for your travel makeup bag if you’re in the market for a decent primer. I’m curious to try the ‘light’ version as well.

 

I hope you enjoyed my favourites – they’re a brilliant lot this month! Be sure to comment below and let me know what you’re loving this month, and I hope you have the most fabulous of Februaries.

3 thoughts on “January Favourites!

Leave a Reply

