February Favourites!

Hope you’ve had a beautiful February! Mine has been eventful to say the least, but I want to share with you some of the wonderful products and items that have been giving me that extra little bit of joy throughout the brutal, miserable weather this month. And did you hear, Sephora US is shipping to the UK? Life = made.

 

1. ‘& Other Stories’ Body Mist in Couture Carnival (£12 via & Other Stories) – February was the month I discovered H&M’s sister store in London, ‘& Other Stories’. I’d visited before but had arrived just as it was closing. However this time around I found myself with free time in Oxford Circus, and where better to spend your free time? Most of the clothes weren’t my style, but the cosmetics section truly drew me in. Especially the fragrances! This is my absolute favourite and I truly can’t get enough of it – it’s one of those scents where I now need it in everything. Lotions, scrubs, etc, I just want to bathe in it. It smells a little like a fruity cocktail – the name sums it up well. The website describes it as “Juicy strawberry, raspberry and guava medley sprinkled with lily of the valley while patchouli, black amber and a gourmet note of praline”. Delicious. Any other fellow fruity-floral fans will love this.

2. Eyeko Skinny Mini Eyeliner (£12 via BeautyBay) – February was also the month that I finally mastered eyeliner. Or I’m getting there, at least. I’d used gel liner with a fine brush for years but still found it difficult to get the precise line I longed for. I’d got this free with a magazine last year and hadn’t yet tried it out, but since picking it up I’ve been using it every single day. For anyone else with unsteady hands, or if you just suck at eyeliner in general, try this! The stiff felt tip nib makes it so easy to work with, and the dark non-smudge product makes sure you won’t have to spend time going over your line, or worrying about the colour transferring or rubbing. I used to rarely wear eyeliner and tended to save it for special occasions, but now there’s no need since it’s so much easier now!

3. MAC Extra Dimension Eyeshadow in ‘Silver Dawn’ (£17 via MAC Cosmetics) – Can we talk about how perfect the MAC Magnetic Nude collection is? And how all of the Extra Dimension products are pretty much perfect? I dropped a small fortune on their blushes and skinfinishes in January. Oh, and I had to have this too. Normally I don’t even bother looking at single eyeshadows since I prefer the convenience of palettes, but this limited edition beauty was too lovely to pass up. It works as the perfect crease shade with my Maybelline Color Tattoo in ‘On and On Bronze’ on those days where I want my eye makeup to look finished but don’t have time for applying several powder shadows. The unique Extra Dimension finish looks beautiful on the skin: high-shine light reflecting metallic without looking glittery and juvenile. I’ve already got good use out of it and so happy I took the time to pick it up! Sadly it’s now sold out online, but it’s possible there are still some available in retail locations.

4. MAC Lipstick in Creme Cup (£15 via MAC Cosmetics) – I’m a bit behind on MAC lipsticks and anxiously trying to catch up and fill my collection over here! This is my latest: the cult favourite Creme Cup, a light neutral pink in my favourite formula, Cremesheen. Creamy and moisturising on the lips, it’s one of those colours you can easily apply without having to look in the mirror. Despite being a pale pink, it’s just dark enough to work on pale and fair skin tones without looking washed out. A must-have staple for all MAC collections large and small! I’ve been wearing it most days since my lips have been a little dry, so the formula is very forgiving.

5. Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Concealer in Light 16 ($25 via Sephora US) – I’m thrilled Kat Von D is now available to us UK residents via Sephora! This concealer has been a lifesaver for my dark undereye circles in the last few weeks, after far too many late nights and early mornings. Like the brilliant Kat Von D Lock-It foundation, the smallest amount effortlessly covers imperfections and stays put all day, never looking cakey in the least. I apply the tiniest dot on the back of my hand and then apply and blend with my fingers. If you’re in the market for a seriously hard-wearing concealer to cover the most unsightly of dark circles and blemishes, this is by far the best I’ve tried! With Sephora’s new UK shipping, I’m bound to be getting my hands on some more fabulous Kat Von D products & I can’t wait!

6. Revlon Colorstay Makeup for Combination/Oily Skin in Buff 150 (£12.49 via Superdrug) – Revlon Colorstay is definitely one of those ‘marmite’ makeup products – some love it, some hate it. If you’ve been looking for an easily available, affordable full coverage foundation, this is a must-have. I’ve never tried a foundation that lasts all day and longer without ending up a greasy, patchy mess by the end of it. A couple of days ago I was up from 7am to 3am, applied this foundation in the morning, and only had to blot my oily patches once during the entire day, and that was only when I was sat under some particularly harsh lighting. I couldn’t believe it when I returned home expecting to look a state around 3am, yet this foundation (and my Eyeko liner may I mention) still looked flawless. Is this magic? The only flaw is the packaging: the most ridiculous packaging around. The actual product is a nightmare to get out. I resorted to taping a MAC foundation pump to the bottle, since I can’t find a pump that fits, just so I can get the stuff out. Even when I shake it vigorously I can’t remove any! The other slight issue is that it can be difficult to blend, especially if you forgot to exfoliate the night before. However despite these flaws, this is a brilliant full coverage foundation that lasts astoundingly well for the price – a worthwhile investment for anyone.

 

Thanks for checking out my favourites for the last month! What have you been loving lately?

 

 

One thought on “February Favourites!

  1. I’ve started using the Revlon Colorstay foundation for a couple months now and I love it too! Now I really want to get my hands on MAC lipsticks, especially the nude/light pink shades!

Leave a Reply

