March & April Empties: Products I Used Up!

11 days until my Final Major Project hand-in – how terrifying! Today I’m taking a break from work to share with you some of the products I’ve used up in March and April – some brilliant; some a bit of a disaster…

 

1. Various LUSH goodies!

  • The Comforter is one of my all-time favourites I seem to use up each time! Cassis and bergamot give this an unforgettably delicious berry candy scent. I save this for stressful days and right now thanks to uni I’m having a whole lot of them! Definitely need to repurchase this! It’s one of Lush’s best value products, since the entire bar can be broken up for 4 -5 baths.
  • Candy Mountain (x2) never fails to remind me of the irritating but loveable Charlie The Unicorn. The predominantly sweet candyfloss vanilla scent is one of my favourites – I don’t find the bubble bars to be too overpowering unlike the liquid shower gels, as the scent never lingers too strongly. Sadly this is a Christmas exclusive – I only have one left, so will be sure to use it wisely! I use this by cutting it in half before crumbling under running water.
  • Butterball is another all-time favourite of mine, though it’s more of a luxurious grown-up option than a bubbly, colourful wonderland. This bath bomb is packed with chunks of cocoa butter which fizz away and moisturise your entire body, leaving skin deliciously soft and smelling like a fancy cocoa vanilla pudding.
  • Fluffy Egg is one of my favourite Easter exclusives – hey, I actually managed to use a Lush product in season! I rarely buy bath bombs for myself because they’re a little expensive just for one bath, but the Fluffy Egg in particular would make such a cute zero calorie Easter gift for someone special. Again, this is a super-sweet, candy scented one – I wish they made edible ones too! It fizzed away colourfully in my bath, leaving behind its gorgeous scent.

2. Redken Color Extend Shampoo (£10.60 for new formula via Feel Unique) – I recently purchased a giant size of this from TK Maxx (and you know what a commitment that is) because nothing else beats it to keep my coloured hair looking fresh and fabulous! I have to use quite a lot for my below-the-shoulder hair and it doesn’t lather a lot, but it does a perfect job of cleansing my vibrant red hair without losing too much colour. I used this for about two months every 4 – 5 days after colouring, and still people noticed when I rotated to a (sulfate-free) moisturising shampoo, because the colour comes out so much faster. It also helps that my hair salon uses Tigi dyes – they seem to look ultra-professional and last far longer than most. Always repurchase.

3. Radox Relax Bath Soak with Lavender and Waterlily (£1.99 via Superdrug) – I usually go for the Tesco brand bubble baths, but these seem to be on offer frequently so I picked up a couple. Nothing spectacular to say, but these produce tons of bubbles and leave a subtle, relaxing scent which is more than welcome after a stressful day.

4. Batiste XXL Volume Dry Shampoo (£3.99 via Superdrug) – The same one I just mentioned in my last Favourites post! Despite not lasting long at all if you’re using them regularly, I still love the volumising Batiste to give my flat hair a much-needed boost around the roots and crown of my head – this isn’t one you’d want to use generously all over, as it gets sticky rather quickly. Wash out build-up with a good clarifying shampoo, and this is a staple in anyone’s daily hair routine.

5. REN Frankincense Revitalising Night Cream (£32 via Look Fantastic) – Loved using this up! I first received this as a deluxe sample size last year, and loved how soft and moisturised my skin felt the next morning, especially when used over the REN Omega 3 Night Repair Serum – soft, flawless skin overnight! I think my skin has unfortunately got used to this, so I’ve been trying out other night creams lately. However I did repurchase, and will be sure to come back to this in the future!

6. Lush Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner (£15.95 for larger 225g) – Sadly I didn’t get to use this all up due to my problem of ‘saving’ products – it was well past its expiry date and had a strange smell when I recently got back to it! The only downside of Lush products: they can expire quickly if not used up right away. However when it was fresh, it had the most gorgeous rose scent and left my body extra-soft and smelling sweet. I already repurchased a bigger size – hopefully I’ll actually use that up before it expires!

7. Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-Wheat Treatment (£12.70 via Feel Unique) – The Healthy Sexy Hair range is rather underrated, seeing as I use their products so often and they give brilliant results each time. Again, I find my hair gets ‘used’ to conditioning products so I rotate this with others. It has quite a runny consistency, but my dry thirsty hair seems to drink it up right away. I leave it on for 15 minutes whilst in the bath and after rinsing out, my hair is princess-soft and looks so much healthier. The only negative is that I feel I need quite a lot for my hair to fully cover it, so this got used up quickly! Look out for Feel Unique sales (15% off today, by the way!) and be sure to stock up when available.

8. Simple Kind To Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes (£1.50 for travel size via Superdrug) – Is there anyone who hasn’t tried these before? My mum used to buy them for me when I was younger, but I have since made my way through just about every other brand of face wipes, and come back to these again. I picked up this cute little travel size for my Amsterdam trip and remembered why they’re awesome: non-greasy, non-stinging and effective as a first cleanse to remove the majority of my makeup. It’s a shame the cheap ones don’t work for me, but I’ll pick up a couple more packs next time they’re on offer!

9. Lee Stafford Breaking Hair Treatment (£10.99 via Boots) – Lee Stafford is undoubtedly a hit-or-miss kind of brand – I generally stay away because the signature over-perfumed scent lingers and gives me a headache. However I found this product did a great job of conditioning and hydrating my hair thoroughly, despite the nauseating smell. Because of this, I tend to stick to other products. Lee Stafford offers a few different hair treatments in very similar packaging, so I picked up this Hair Growth version and will let you know how it turns out! I’m very skeptical of products claiming to make hair grow or repair broken ends (a trim is the only real solution), but I’m always happy to find a new, effective deep conditioner.

10. Kleenex Shine Absorbing Sheets – My room is infested with these – they’re in every bag, every drawer, every crevice. My skin has been playing up being extra-oily lately, so they’re an absolute essential to keep on hand. I slightly prefer the Clean and Clear version over these, but for 29p in Home Bargains (now probably sold out, unfortunately) you can’t really say no.

11. MAC Nail Lacquer in ‘Feelin’ Blue’ – Some vintage MAC goodness for you! I bought this nail lacquer on Ebay years ago and have little clue as to when it originally came out, or what collection is was from. Judging by what little I can find on Google, it’s at least 8 years old. I used to wear this shade on my toes all the time as a teen, though haven’t used it lately. It was nearly empty and had completely dried up, so I’ll be sure to save this vintage beauty for Back 2 Mac towards a free lipstick!

12. Dior Hydra Life Pro Youth Sorbet Creme [Sample] (£34.85 for full size via Escentual) – A lovely freebie from a very generous Dior counter lady! A little rich as a day cream for my oily sensitive skin, but worked well as a night cream. A lovely light texture and soft luxurious scent, absorbing into the skin quickly with no residual oiliness. A shame this is so expensive, being Dior – I’ll have to wait a while before purchasing the full size.

13. Carmex Vanilla Lip Balm (£3.25 via ASOS) – No, I didn’t finish a lip balm yet – I’m pretty sure I’m allergic to the perfume in this! I’ve never had such a problem with regular Carmex or any other lip balm – this gave me huge, painful zits all around my mouth. A shame, as it smelled really good.

14. Sephora Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover ($7 for 1.69oz) – A miniature size from a deluxe set I bought on Ebay last year, this has last surprisingly long. I don’t use eye makeup remover every day as it can irritate my eyes. This is quite similar to the pricier Lancome Bi-Facil – you have to shake to mix the blue oil and water layers before using, and a few quick swipes helps to remove even the most stubborn mascara. I already repurchased the full size while in the USA, though will be keeping this cute little bottle for travelling.

15. Collection 2000 Eyebrow Definer in Blonde (£2.79 via Superdrug) – Another all-time favourite! I seem to use one of these up every couple of months. Not surprising as I use it almost every day to help define my pale, sporadically placed brows, with MAC Brow Set on top for a fuller yet natural effect. I feel brows are the most important feature in your makeup routine – it’s so important to get the right products! The propelling pencil is easy to use and travel with, as well as being a perfect ashy, taupe shade for light brown and dark blonde hairs that I can never find anywhere else.

16. Eyeko Skinny Mini Eye Liner (£12 via BeautyBay) – My first step to felt pen liner addiction! This was lovely to use and easy to apply when new, but it dried up within 6 weeks and I couldn’t afford to replace it – I got this one as a magazine freebie, despite Eyeko being quite expensive! The Collection 2000 liner in my last favourites post is very similar and works just as well for a fraction of the price.

17. Benefit ‘The Big Easy’ in 03 Light/Medium [Sample] – Aren’t Benefit a little stingy with their samples?! I managed to get hold of a Twitter code for a free sample in store a while ago and was excitedly expecting a deluxe mini for some reason, but ended up with this tiny smudge of product. At least I loved it after trying it out – check my last Favourites for a more thorough review! The shade range runs very pale which might be a winner for other pale Brits like myself – shade 3 out of 6 was perfectly wearable on my NW20 skin. I already repurchased the full size of shade 2 since it wore so well on my oily skin.

18. Estee Lauder Advance Night Repair Serum [Sample] – I don’t think a sample is  enough to properly give a review on this! Although perfumed and a little sticky, it did work well as a moisturising oil under my night cream for a few days. I’m tempted to get hold of the full size in future, but for now I can’t justify paying out for the full size without a longer trial first!

 

I hope you loved seeing everything I’ve used up this month – now I can finally recycle these beauties! I’m off to go finish my portfolio – have a beautiful Bank Holiday!

4 thoughts on “March & April Empties: Products I Used Up!

Leave a Reply

