May Favourites

 

Hello! Welcome to my favourites for the month of May! This is the first month in a while I haven’t had many brand new products to rave about due to having to budget for so many birthdays this month, though that did allow me to rediscover some forever favourites that are seriously underrated!

 

1. Avene Eau Thermale (£3.15 via Boots) – I picked up this mini handbag-size thermal water spray on impulse, since I’d never tried a product like this before; lucky I ended up loving it! Not just ideal for misting on sensitive or irritated skin after cleansing, it is also like heaven in a bottle during hot weather. We have had a few real summer days already this year, and sprayed on a makeup-less face this is so calming and refreshing. After only a few weeks of use I’m almost out, so I’ll have to repurchase soon!

2. La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel for Oily Sensitive Skin (£11 via Boots) – I seem to be on a bit of a French skincare kick this month! Honestly though, I always thought ‘natural’ skincare was best for sensitive skin, but the essential oils and plant extracts only ended up irritating it more. The French really do bland, truly effective skincare well, and at a reasonable price too! This cleanser is not to be used for removing mascara or eyeliner, but it does a great job of deep cleaning pores without drying skin out at all. It’s so hard to find a cleanser that works for sensitive oily skin – they either seem to not do a great job or strip and irritate, but this really has made my skin look much more clear!

3. Urban Decay Naked Eyeshadow Palette (£37 via Debenhams) – One of my oldest palettes – I’ve had this for nearly 3 years! I hadn’t used it in a while, deciding to come back to it only recently and I’m so glad I did. The Urban Decay eyeshadow formula is probably my all-time favourite, soft and pigmented with a gorgeous range of shades. I always stick to palettes rather than individual shadows, mainly because all the shades complement each other well – pretty much taking out all the effort of choosing colours for you! The original Naked palette is my current favourite of all my eyeshadow palettes – great formula, gorgeous mix of mostly shimmer shades with a couple of mattes, and suits most skin tones, especially my cool-toned skin. I’d rather spend my money on a Naked palette than on any of the cheaper knock-offs any day!

4. Maybelline Eraser Eye Concealer in Light (£7.99 via Superdrug) – This product almost went into the bin at first..now I’m glad it didn’t, since it’s a new favourite of mine! The Light shade seems to be sold out everywhere and so many bloggers and Youtubers rave about this product, so I was thrilled to eventually find this in my local Tesco Extra store. Sadly I hated the sponge applicator which irritated my under-eye area, barely allowing any product through, certainly not enough to cover my dark circles. Luckily I had the bright idea of ripping off the sponge and using it straight from the twist applicator – now it’s a whole different story. The product itself is thick and blendable, now giving decent coverage and doesn’t crease at the first sign of oiliness or perspiration – I was amazed after a crazy day of climbing, walking and generally being idiots with friends on a hot sunny day that my concealer was still intact in the evening. Nice job Maybelline!

5. Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream (£9.99 via ASOS) – I don’t think I’ve ever quite been so excited at a face product. I really disliked the Healthy Mix foundation, so I didn’t have the highest hopes for this; however I was proved well and truly wrong. Despite its runny consistency, it blends easily onto bare skin, magically neutralising annoying redness and undereye circles. Not sure how it does this, but I’m seriously impressed! I wore this every day on my trip to Amsterdam at the beginning of April and most days throughout May. Quick and easy to apply, the light texture makes it perfect for warmer weather, ideally over sunscreen if you’re outdoors, since the SPF 15 it contains would not be enough for any more than brief sun exposure. My only issue is that the shades do run dark – I accidentally bought the 2nd shade of 4 (Light Beige) first time around and it made me look far too dark! Luckily, Ivory is an ideal match for N15 – 20 skin – I’ll be wearing this all summer.

6. L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Collection Privee Lipstick in Cheryl’s Nude (£8.16 via Feel Unique) – I’m not sure anyone quite understands the love I have for this particular lipstick. No, it’s not a Hello Kitty lipstick, it’s Cheryl Cole for L’Oreal, but I couldn’t stand the ideal of having her name emblazoned on the front! I’m definitely not one of her biggest fans. The reason I have and love it is that it’s the perfect creamy nude lipstick for pale-skinned redheads and brunettes, much preferable to the ‘concealer nude’ and brown nude shades of the past. I wear this on an almost-daily basis and I couldn’t have asked for a better muted pinky-peach shade to accompany a more dramatic eye look. I also love Julianne’s Nude from the same limited edition collection, which also suits the same skin and hair colours as this, but leans a touch more pink than peach. I took advantage of Superdrug’s 3 for 2 promotion and got myself a backup of both shades – Cheryl’s shade is my favourite and I don’t want to be without it!

7. Zoeva brushes in 223 and 231 (EUR6.20 each via Zoeva Shop) – Can we talk about how wonderful and perfect Zoeva brushes are? These days it’s entirely possible to get hold of good quality brushes which are also affordable – think Real Techniques! I’d heard about them via MakeupAlley and after some investigation, decided on filling out my sorely lacking eye brush collection with a few choice items. The 231 Petit Crease has made applying shadow to my eye crease so much easier than before – the uber-soft bristles don’t pull or irritate my eyelids and the slightly tapered end fits the small area perfectly. The 223 Petit Eye Blender has revolutionised my blending technique – no more using my fingertips! The soft, ultra-dense bristles allow me to easily blend out my shadow, even on top of primer which can sometimes make blending much more tedious. As well as looking sleek, performing well and feeling like excellent quality all around, they also wash flawlessly, ready to be used again. Despite the steep shipping costs (£7.50 per order to the UK from Germany), the low price of individual products makes the cost absolutely worth it. I had a great experience ordering directly from Zoeva and really want to look into trying out their face brushes in the near future – I’d pick these over other eye brushes from a premium brand any day.

 

That’s it for my May Favourites! This is up a little late due to my birthday on the 1st June – I had a great time & will post all about my birthday purchases very soon! Let me know what your favourites were this month down below!

4 thoughts on “May Favourites

Leave a Reply

