My Travel Essentials: Don’t Leave Home Without Them!

Packing for travel is always something I plan and organise meticulously – there is just so much to share on the topic, & too much to fit into just one blog post! Since holiday season is coming up, I thought it would be best to break down this involved subject into a few different posts. I probably do travel around more than most, & always do my best to make sure my packing is both streamlined and somewhat affordable! Read on to find out my top non-makeup beauty essentials to pack before jetting off yet again..

 1. Invisibobble Hair Ties (£3.75 for 3 via Feel Unique) – I’d originally received some of these in a beauty box ages ago & hadn’t touched them, but since I have longer hair now they’ve become an essential for me! The last thing you want to worry about whilst travelling is having hair in your face, and these keep even the slipperiest, finest hair up in a high ponytail or bun without budging. I use them for such occasions, or for when I’m doing my makeup and don’t want hair in the way!

2. Bath & Body Works PocketBac (£1.95 via Ebay) – My particular one is a fruity special edition from Halloween! I’m amazed how cheap these are to buy in store if you’re lucky enough to ever visit a Bath & Body Works – only $5 for 5 in the USA. They’re tiny, smell great and come in a range of scents to suit just about any taste. Especially good if you’re having to deal with public transport, or for taking in your bag if you’re going out to eat!

3. Boots Mini Emery Boards (£2 for 3 via Boots) – Nothing particularly amazing, but this mini-size emery boards are a lifesaver if you’re stuck with a broken or ripped nail as you can file it down with ease – always carry one with you wherever you go for such emergencies!

4. The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector 30ml (£5 via The Body Shop) – My favourite hand cream! I’ve used it for over 10 years and nothing else seems to compare – I leave it on overnight and the next day my hands are always smooth and baby-soft. The mini 30ml size is ideal for your travel bag, as the 100ml one is huge (although better value)!

5. Indeed Labs Hydraluron Moisture Boosting Facial Serum (£24.99 via Boots) – I’ve gone on about my love for Hydraluron before, but there is really nothing better when you’re dealing with air travel. Other moisturising products leave my skin greasy and a little congested after over-using on a flight, but a small amount of this before and during a long haul flight means skin is wonderfully hydrated and ready to go once you’re off the plane, rather than dealing with blackheads and dry patches for a few days afterwards! If it wasn’t quite so expensive I’d use it every day, though it really is an essential in preventing dried-out skin when you’re staying in a different climate.

6. Boots Large Patterned Mirror (£5 via Boots) – I didn’t realise how much I needed this mirror until I got one for myself! An essential if you know you’re going to be sleeping on a friend’s sofa or floor, or sharing a bathroom with someone else. I’d even recommend it for festivals, as it’s quite inexpensive too. This portable mirror can be folded back on itself and stood on a flat surface so you can do your makeup wherever you go and don’t have to hog the entire bathroom. It’s very slim and the size of an A5 notebook, so really easy to travel with, especially since the plastic cover prevents it from getting dirty or scratched in your bag. Much more convenient than trying to apply your full face peering into a tiny compact mirror!

7. Primark Dual Pencil Sharpener (£1 via Primark) – Great for keeping your lip pencils and liners sharp on the go – it is unbelievably frustrating needing one and not having it! The dual sizes accommodate pretty much any size of pencils (my NYX chunky crayons and Nars lip pencils also fit), and the plastic lid prevents stray shavings from dirtying your bag.

8. Elizabeth & James White Nirvana Rollerball Perfume ($22 via Sephora US) – Or any rollerball perfume really! White Nirvana is so fresh and floral, and reminds me of being away visiting my lovely family. It’s a shame that rollerball perfumes aren’t really sold in the UK, but fragrance samples, or a solid perfume from Lush would be just as useful! The bonus with Lush’s solid fragrances is that they won’t spill, only cost £6 and don’t count towards your liquids allowance so can be taken in hand luggage no problem. My favourites are Lush Karma and Lord of Misrule (limited edition). I really try to stick to solids or rollerballs whilst en route and in close proximity to others, as some people are allergic to perfume, or just won’t appreciate a spray of it themselves!

9. Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micelle Solution 100ml (£4.80 via Escentual) – How cute are the mini Biodermas?! This 100ml size has lasted me a couple of trips already, despite using every day as well as on the plane to remove dirt and makeup from my skin – just sprinkle onto a cotton pad and wipe all over. This formula is super-gentle and non-drying too. The small size also means you don’t have to cart around a giant bottle of the stuff.

10. The Mini Wet Brush (£6.99 via Cult Beauty) – I’m a huge fan of the regular size Wet Brush, so was delighted when I came across a cute little purple one! I used to use the Tangle Teezer in my travel bag, but since dropping it on a tiled floor it now makes an annoying rattling noise when using it, so I decided to invest in one of these instead. The Wet Brush may look like any other hair brush, but is unbelievably gentle on even the knottiest of hair. I imagine these would be ideal for children as well, as they don’t tug the hair at all.

11. Bumble and Bumble Pret-A-Powder 0.3oz ($12 via Sephora US) – I hadn’t actually tried this product before, but after spotting this adorable mini size in Sephora I couldn’t turn it down! As well as being an ultra-small size for your travel bag, this is ideal for combining with your regular dry shampoo to add a little volume boost – I can’t go without big hair wherever I am, & most volumising products usually come in massive containers! The perfect antidote to dull, flat hair in a super-compact size.

12. Nivea Sun SPF 30 Pocket Size 50ml (£4 via Boots) – I’ve had this well over a year, so will probably buy myself a new one before going anywhere else! In the UK it’s rare we have the weather for getting our body sunscreen out – and who’s ever finished off a giant bottle of the stuff?! This tiny size is airline-approved and pocket/handbag sized, and you’re more likely to actually finish the whole thing up, so you won’t be spending on product that’s going to end up in the bin!

Hope you enjoyed having a look at my travel essentials! Let me know below if there’s anything that’s a must-have for you when you’re on holiday or travelling anywhere!

Leave a Reply

