September Favourites

It’s the Favourites time of the month again! I really wanted to put together a very exciting new blog post earlier in the month, but I’ve been suffering from a reallly long, drawn-out flu/viral infection, which has meant I haven’t been able to do a great deal unfortunately! I didn’t want to put up a rubbish post just for the sake of posting, so hopefully I can have that up very soon instead! Until then, here are some of my favourites this month: mostly classics with a couple of new ones! Have you tried any of these before?

1. Bee Good Honey & Wild Water Mint 3-in-1 Cleansing Water (£10 via Waitrose) – At £10 for just 100ml of cleansing water, this has got to be one of the pricier micellar style cleansers out there! I did receive this in a BBB Box a while ago, and whilst I haven’t read or heard much about it otherwise, it’s an excellent one! It has a very mild natural, earthy honey/mint scent, is gentle on even the most sensitive skin, and doesn’t leave a film or residue on the face. Very refreshing in the morning! The only downsides for me are the price as mentioned, and that it isn’t the most travel-friendly container with the large plastic lid, so I’ll most likely be bringing my mini Bioderma away with me next month instead. Though for everyday use at home, this is now my favourite.

2. REN V-Cense Revitalising Night Cream (£32 via Space NK) – Infamous for forever changing product names, this is REN’s staple frankincense night cream that has been around for a while, same formula and all. Annoyingly, I think this tube is even smaller than before – £32 for just 50ml of product is a bit steep! However I’ve been trying out different night creams and after waking up with blackheads, greasy skin and breakouts from other formulas, I’ve returned to this old favourite. This soothing night cream is ideal for all skin types – my combination/sensitive skin always wakes up looking calm, refreshed and feels soft and nourished – not greasy or irritated at all. I may be sticking with this old favourite for a while – despite the price, my skin is so glad I came back to it!

3. Bath & Body Works Leaves Medium Candle ($12.50 via Bath & Body Works) – Getting my favourite cold weather scent out today! I’m really not one of those people who gets in a Pinterest-fuelled frenzy for pumpkin spice and knits as soon as the first day of Autumn arrives – I feel like the only people who genuinely look forward to the colder weather are those who don’t have to worry about affording their heating bill! But Leaves is the kind of scent that makes you feel warm and cosy – nectar, red apple and spiced berries carry all the way through from the first day of Autumn to Christmas and beyond. I’m so glad there are new Medium candles out this year, as some scents are just better with a more subtle throw – some of the larger candles make even the most pleasant scents really overpowering. I’ll definitely be picking up another whilst I’m away!

4. Lush Yuzu and Cocoa Moisturising Shower Cream (from £4.75 via Lush) – Initially I didn’t get the Yuzu hype, always overlooking the bubbleroon of the same scent in Lush stores, but since picking up the bright yellow shower cream when the Oxford Street store opened several months ago, I’ve definitely fallen for it a little bit more. Most dramatically when pairing with my last Golden Wonder bath bomb recently (packed with the lime-laden Celebrate scent) and realised what a perfect combination it was! And I quite enjoy smelling like a chocolate orange. I’m looking forward to trying this out with more citrus-scented bath products I don’t usually reach for, as they are a heavenly match together – I couldn’t stop smelling myself.

5. Lush Vanilla In The Mist Soap (currently unavailable) – Unfortunately a Kitchen exclusive and one that isn’t much to look at, but one I’ve been obsessed with lately! I use the solid Lush soaps to wash my hands (although you can use them in place of a shower gel too), and having hands that smell like delicious Lush scents makes such everyday chores that much more lovely. If you ever get the chance to purchase one, Vanilla in the Mist smells just like you’d expect – sweet, natural, non-synthetic vanilla. Like expensive vanilla ice cream. I’m very picky with vanilla scents & this is vanilla perfection for me!

6. Escentric Molecules Molecule 01 (£27 via Cult Beauty) – One that’s become something of a signature scent for me, now returning as the weather gets a little chillier. I can never get enough of it as it always smells a little different – mostly it smells of fresh paperback books, a little woody, a little floral – an enigmatic, mysterious scent which is totally unisex and never too strong or overpowering. I’m on my second bottle of this and prefer the refill size as they’re easy to travel with – my Sephora Travalo only holds enough scent for a week or so. I’m not sure how much I believe the claims of using pheromones to produce a unique scent on each person, but it is one of those rare scents I just don’t get tired of. One that everyone needs to try.

7. Ten Digit Creations Whipped Body Butter in Tuca Tuca (from $6 via Ten Digit Creations) – I didn’t buy a whole lot beauty-wise this month as I’m trying to save up for travelling and use products up, though I did treat myself to a TDC order. This wonderful company produces handmade, affordable bath, body and home scents, many inspired by your favourite scents by Lush, Bath & Body Works, Victoria’s Secret as well as their own blends. Ever tried a shower gel/bath bomb by Lush and thought “damn, I wish I could smell like this all the time”? They probably have a scent dupe for that, and you can smell like Lord of Misrule, Northern Lights and more as much as you please! Since getting hooked on the now-discontinued Tuca Tuca scent after thoroughly enjoying Lush’s new Don’t Rain On My Parade shower gel in the exact same scent, I wanted a lotion to pair with the shower gel so I can smell delicious all the time. This lotion is truly spot-on scent-wise, the whipped texture is a delight to apply, and the mixture of shea butter, olive oil and vitamin E makes my skin feel incredibly soft. The only downside is that international shipping can be pricey and you risk getting hit with expensive import taxes and handling fees, though it’s one that’s absolutely worth trying out.

I hope you enjoyed checking out my favourites for the month of September! What have you been obsessing over this month, beauty or otherwise? I’m heading off on my travels at the end of next month, so expect a few more posts before I leave (and maybe a naughty US haul when I return)!

2 thoughts on “September Favourites

Leave a Reply

